The Journey of Grief

Elements for Healthy Grieving

These elements of healthy grieving describe the journey of grief, and how to experience emotional pain in a healthy way. Each person’s journey through grief is unique. Measure your success at facing each one and determine what is needed to move forward.

  1. Accept the reality of loss; prepare to experience emotional pain.

  2. Feel the feelings normal with your loss; express and release emotional pain; celebrate happy memories; refuse to stuff your emotions.

  3. Take care of yourself in every way along the journey – physically, mentally, spiritually, relationally and emotionally.

  4. Adjust to the new reality created by the loss experience; relearn to live in the world.

  5. Remember the good about who or what you have lost; you choose your points of focus.

  6. Develop a new self-identity based on life after loss.

  7. Relate your loss to a context of meaning; grief is a spiritual journey; a reexamination of core truths, values, passion, purpose, & goals.

  8. Reinvest in life and go on living and loving after loss.

Based on the work of Alan Wolfelt and William J. Worden; edited by Karl J. Shackelford.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row type=”in_container” full_screen_row_position=”middle” column_margin=”default” column_direction=”default” column_direction_tablet=”default” column_direction_phone=”default” scene_position=”center” text_color=”dark” text_align=”left” row_border_radius=”none” row_border_radius_applies=”bg” overlay_strength=”0.3″ gradient_direction=”left_to_right” shape_divider_position=”bottom” bg_image_animation=”none”][vc_column column_padding=”no-extra-padding” column_padding_tablet=”inherit” column_padding_phone=”inherit” column_padding_position=”all” centered_text=”true” background_color_opacity=”1″ background_hover_color_opacity=”1″ column_shadow=”none” column_border_radius=”none” column_link_target=”_self” gradient_direction=”left_to_right” overlay_strength=”0.3″ width=”1/1″ tablet_width_inherit=”default” tablet_text_alignment=”default” phone_text_alignment=”default” column_border_width=”none” column_border_style=”solid” bg_image_animation=”none”][nectar_btn size=”jumbo” open_new_tab=”true” button_style=”regular” button_color_2=”Accent-Color” icon_family=”none” text=”Download Article” url=”/wp-content/uploads/2021/01/WG-Info-The-Journey-of-Grief.pdf” css_animation=”pulse”][/vc_column][/vc_row]

Featured Posts
Posts Are Coming Soon
Stay tuned...
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon


© 2021 by Peaks & Creeks Life Development, Inc   |  

|   |  720.382.9420   |   P.O. Box 1596 Evergreen CO 80437  |

| really cool images courtesy of maddie shackelford | 


HeartMath is a registered trademark of the Institute of HeartMath | HeartMath, Freeze Frame, Heart Lock-in and Heart Mapping are registered trademarks of the Institute of HeartMath. Quick Coherence is a registered trademark of Doc Childre. Resilience Advantage, Inner-Ease, Heart-Focused Breathing and Coherent Communication are trademarks of Doc Childre. Depletion to Renewal Grid is a trademark of HeartMath LLC. emWave and Coherence Coach are registered trademarks of Quantum Intech, Inc. Inner Balance is a trademark of Quantum Intech, Inc.